All-Time Scoring Leaders Headed to CofO Hall of Fame

By: Dori Rapinchuk. CofO SID

Two NAIA All-Americans make up the College of the Ozarks Sports Hall of Fame inductees for 2018. The honorees will be inducted during the 2018 Sports Hall of Fame Luncheon on Saturday, Feb. 10.

The first 2018 inductee is Morgan Smith, who came to the Lady Cats following a stellar high school career. She played three seasons at Marshfield High School and was a key contributor for the Nixa Lady Eagles Class 5 State Championship during her senior year, earning All-State honors. Smith played for the Lady Cats from 2010-2013. In her four-year career, Smith lead the Lady Cats to 120 wins, including a National Tournament Runner Up finish in 2012. Smith was a two-time NAIA First Team All-American and three-time MCAC Player of the Year.  In 2013, Smith was named to the WBCA All-American team. In 2012, she was selected to the NAIA First Team All-Tournament team.  Smith set a single-season scoring record (845) and a single-season field goals made record (312). Smith holds school records for most career field goals made (1,024), most free throws made (595), and is the Lady Cats all-time leading scorer with 2,646 points.  On Nov. 1, 2013, the College recognized Smith’s contributions by officially retiring and displaying her #45 jersey in the Keeter Gymnasium. Smith graduated in 2013 with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Studio Art: Graphic Design and Ceramics.

The second inductee is Mike Wiebe, who hails from Branson High School where he recorded an All-State career.  Wiebe played for the Bobcats from the 2010 season through 2013.  In his four-year career, Wiebe helped lead the Bobcats to 81 wins, a Final Four berth in the 2011 NAIA Men’s National Championship, and an Elite 8 finish in 2013. Wiebe earned NAIA Second Team All-American honors three consecutive years, was named the 2009-10 Conference Freshman of the Year, and the 2012 Midlands Conference Player of the Year. In addition, Wiebe set school records for single-season scoring (797 points), most career free throws made (501), and is the Bobcats’ all-time scoring leader with 2,468 points.  On Nov. 2, 2013, the College recognized Wiebe’s contributions by officially retiring and displaying his #12 jersey in the Keeter Gymnasium. Wiebe graduated in 2013 with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Business Administration: Marketing.

After receiving nominations from alumni, former or present coaches, faculty, staff, administrators, fans, boosters, parents, friends, classmates, etc., a faculty athletic committee selects inductees based on their accomplishments within the sports arena at College of the Ozarks.

For those interested in attending the Sports Hall of Fame luncheon, tickets are $20 and must be purchased in advance by contacting Dori Rapinchuk in the College’s Sports Information Office at 417-690-2565.  Seating is limited and available on a first-come, first-served basis.

photo courtesy of CofO
photo courtesy of CofO

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *