Branson, Reeds Spring, and Hollister get Blue and Gold Opponents

The brackets were released today for the 2017 version of the Blue and Gold Tournament.  Three local teams will be taking part.

Reeds Spring will get the early wakeup call.  The Wolves drew the first game of the Tournament for the second year in a row.  This year they are the unseeded team.  They will face #8 Stockton at 9:30 AM  on 12/26 at Hammons Student Center on the campus of Missouri State University.

Branson will join the Wolves in the Blue Division but instead of the early game, they get the late, late, show.  The Pirates will take on #3 Strafford in a game that is scheduled to tip at 9:30 PM

Hollister will try their luck in the Gold Division and get to play their first round game at JQH Arena.  They tip at 11:00 and draw the Number One seed: Coach Mark Schweitzer and the Ozark Tigers

The tournament takes place December 26th through 29th

Blue Division

9:30  Reeds Spring vs #8 Stockton

11:00  Skyline vs #1 Nixa

12:30 Lebanon vs #5 Mt Vernon

2:00  Camdenton vs #4 Hartville

5:00 Willow Springs vs #7 Marshfield

6:30 Buffalo vs #2 Mountain Grove

8:00 Ava vs #6 Kickapoo

9:30  Branson vs #3 Strafford


Gold Division

9:30  Greenwood vs #8 Clever

11:00  Hollister vs #1 Ozark

12:30 West Plains vs #5 Mansfield

2:00 Hillcrest vs #4 Republic

5:00 Aurora vs #7 Willard

6:30 Crane vs #2 Catholic

8:00 Bolivar vs #6 Fair Grove

9:30 Spokane vs #3 Rogersville

Branson and Blue Eye Girls in State Rankings

The Statewide Basketball rankings are out and a couple of local schools are getting recognition.  The Branson Lady Pirates are up to the number TWO spot in the latest Class 5 poll.  Blue Eye makes an appearance as well.  Coach Ken Elfrink’s team has grabbed the #9 spot in Class 2.

Here is a look at the poll.  SW Missouri teams are in bold print…

Class 1

1 Walnut Grove 2-1
2 Wheatland 2-0
3 Southwest (Livingston County) 1-0
4 Norborne 1-0
5 South Iron 3-1
6 Mound City 4-0
7 Leeton 2-0
8 Madison 4-1
9 Higbee 5-0
10 Jefferson 3-1

Class 2

1 Skyline 3-0
2 Oran 2-0
3 Neelyville 2-1
4 Thayer 4-0
5 Mid Buchanan 2-0
6 Scotland County 2-1
7 New Haven 3-1
8 New Bloomfield 4-1
9 Blue Eye 4-0
10 New Haven 3-1

Class 3

1 Strafford 3-0
2 Trenton 4-0
3 Hermann 4-0
4 Whitfield 1-1
5 California 3-0
6 Lutheran North 3-0
7 Monroe City 2-0
8 Fair Grove 4-0
9 Licking 4-0
10 Central (Park Hills) 1-0

Class 4

1 Incarnate Word 3-0
2 Parkway North 3-0
3 Dexter 3-1
4 Lincoln Prep 4-1
5 Carl Junction 3-0
6 Pacific 4-0
7 Sullivan 4-0
8 St. Dominic 4-0
9 Lutheran South 2-1
10 Osage 3-1

Class 5

1 Kirkwood 3-0
2 Branson 4-0
3 Jackson 5-1
4 Rock Bridge 1-1
5 Lee’s Summit West 2-1
6 Lee’s Summit North 2-1
7 Kickapoo 2-1
8 Washington 1-1
9 Jefferson City 2-2
10 Lee’s Summit 1-1


Newton garners Player of the Year

Running Back Kelly Newton has been named the Perry Phillips Broadcasting-Reeds Spring Football Player of the Year for 2017.

Newton had an incredible season rushing for 1930 yards (nearly 11 yards per carry) and crushed the school record by nearly 500 yards.  He also set a new Wolves mark for touchdowns, finding the endzone 21 times on the year.  He was always a big play waiting to happen. Twenty-Six Times he had carries for more than 20 yards; Eleven of those were for more than 40.

The senior garnered 1st Team All-COC honors, where he was the Co-Offensive Player of the Year.  He was also All-District, All-Area, and 3rd team All-State.

Defensively, he was in on 28 tackles, 21 of them solo.  He picked off three passes and returned one of those for a score.

He helped lead the Wolves to a 9-3 mark and a birth in the District Championship Game.

photo courtesy of Michelle Nordin

Forsyth Tournament results and All-Tournament Team

The 57th annual Forsyth Tournament proved to be as competitive as expected.  It was a good week of basketball the ended with the home team taking the Championship for the first time since 2002.

With the final days results, the teams finished as follows..

  1. Forsyth
  2. Strafford
  3. Blue Eye
  4. Reeds Spring
  5. Marshfield
  6. Berryville
  7. Hollister
  8. School of the Ozarks.

All-Tournament Team

Jarrett Ray – Berryville

Payton Webber – Hollister

Lane Carroll – Reeds Spring

Ryan Reagan – Blue Eye

Andrew Mitchell – Blue Eye

Triston Letterman – Marshfield

Weston Boswell – Strafford

Riley Oberbeck –  Strafford

Anthony Stanford – Forsyth

*Micaiah Rocha – Forsyth   TOURNAMENT MVP

Multiple Wolves Named All-State

The Missouri Football Coaches Association has released their All-State teams for the just concluded Football season.  And, the successful Reeds Spring season has seen a record number of Wolves receiving attention. Three different Wolves were named to the various teams, that ties a record for the most in a single season.

Austin Bradfield  gets named for the second straight year.  The center was the centerpiece of the most dominant offensive line the school has ever seen.  As a group they paved the way for the most prolific offensive season in school history.  Bradfield received second team honors after being named to the third team a year ago.

Ben Moler gets the nod on the second team as well.  Moler was a flat out tackling machine for the Wolves.  The stud linebacker led the team in tackles and was seemingly always around the ball.  If not for the fact that the defensive player of the year was from this same district, you have to wonder if Moler would not have been first team.

Kelly Newton was named to the third team.  Newton not only broke the school rushing record, he smashed it and set a mark (1930) that could likely stand for a while.  He also set a new mark for touchdowns.

Great to see so many kids get respect on a statewide level.  When you consider that the Wolves fell short of getting out of districts that is nice accomplishment.